My, how far we’ve come

Our house is starting to look like the vision we imagined when we bought the house waaaay back on Mar. 1.  If you don’t remember what it looked like, take a look at the “before” videos here:

Downstairs: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vDrd3SBmUgw

Upstairs: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZv3oW_jDtQ

The feelings of doubt that this project would ever be over are being replaced by feelings of excitement for our slated move-in date: June 2.  An invitation to help will go out soon 🙂

Since I haven’t posted in almost two weeks, let me catch you up on what we’ve done.

  • The most exciting progress we’ve made has been on our two upstairs bathrooms.  We now have TWO bathrooms in which you can use the toilet, wash your hands AND take a shower.  I no longer have to brush my teeth in the laundry sink in the basement!

Master Bathroom (Still needs – medicine cabinet, vanity light, tp holder, towel holder)

Full Upstairs Bathroom

    • Still needs fixtures (mirror, vanity light, tp holder, towel holder)
    • Still needs the side of the tub fixed (Updated pictures to come next week)
  • We have first coats of paint on the dining room, the kitchen/breakfast area, the living room and the entry way

Living Room (Taupe)

Dining Room (Copper Penny) – It’s hard to get a good pic of the color

Kitchen (Muted Blue) 

  • After three weekends of painting, the kitchen cabinets are finally done, and are actually installed back in the kitchen.  Now I just have to attach the doors (with my “renewed” hinges, below) and my “renewed” hardware (see previous post)

  • I spent a couple days, and a lot of spray paint preparing an older headboard and footboard for one of our guest rooms.  Turns out, it’s for a Full…and we need a Queen.  I’m sure I’ll laugh about it later…right?

Tomorrow is a very exciting day.  The carpet is being installed in the three bedrooms (which means they’ll be DONE!  and ready to start moving furniture in), the kitchen cabinets are being templated so that they can cut our countertops, and we’re getting a big delivery: Range, Washer, Dryer, 2 box springs and a mattress.  On Saturday, we get the Fridge delivered.  Before you know it, we’ll have a working kitchen!

With all of this going on, I should have some great update pictures for you next week!

Thanks for reading!

8 thoughts on “My, how far we’ve come

  1. Coincidentally, I have a condo meeting on June 2. Should I send Greg?! It looks great, and I cannot wait to see (after the move!) Love you!!

    • Mom, I’m sure you won’t have time to help us move, as you’ll be busy sewing dining room curtains and reupholstering chairs for the family room, right??? 🙂

  2. Wow, you guys have really KICKED IT! Everything looks incredible. I love the shade of blue you chose in the kitchen. So pretty with the white cabinetry and your eye is drawn to that copper color Wonderful. Not having a kitchen or a bath is hard… but not having either is unthinkable. I’m sure you’ll miss the laundry sink. NOT! The bathrooms are so well done. I’m sure you’re excited to put your “decorators touch” to them. Awesome progress!

Leave a comment